MPUMALANGA, NELSPRUIT, 16 AUGUST 2018 – This past weekend, 11 August 2018, Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit attracted loads of eager athletes as it played host to Race 6 of the 2018 Toyota WARRIOR Series, powered by Reebok.

As Mbombela is the gateway to Kruger National Park, the area is renowned for wildlife sightings and an authentic bushveld feel – providing the ideal space for participants to bring out their inner WARRIOR and take on a proudly South African adventure.

The men’s Black Ops Elite race featured the best of the best, but it was Louis Smit (KeyHealth Team Nevarest) who claimed his first-ever Toyota Warrior Black Ops Elite title ahead of seasoned winners Claude Eksteen (Supa Mama) and Thomas van Tonder (Toyota Warrior). Smit finished the 17km, 35 obstacle-course in 01h22m50s, just 45 seconds ahead of 2017 series winner, Eksteen, while van Tonder finished third with a time of 01h25m15s.

Says the Black Ops Men’s Elite Winner, Smit“This weekend was one of my best results ever, I won my first ever Warrior Black Ops Elite race. I got into a good rhythm at the start of the race and just kept the pace going. The flat course suited me well – there were no hills to stop me. I just felt really great racing today.”

In the women’s elite race, Nedene Cahill (Supa Mama) proved the better racer in Mpumalanga, finishing the course in 01h40m07s, 8 minutes ahead of SA OCR Champion, Trish Eksteen (Supa Mama) in second with a time of 01h48m25s, and Carla van Huyssteen (KeyHealth Team Nevarest) in third in a time of 01h49m50s.

In addition to the honours and the R10 000 prize purse, Louis Smit and Nadene Cahill each got to drive home in a WARRIOR-branded Toyota RAV4 – theirs to drive until the next event in Cape Town on the 6th of October.

In the 10km, 22 obstacle Commando Elite race, the men’s top three were Anele Bans in a time of 52m43s, Conrad Herbst in second with a time of 52m59s, and Calen Hastie in third in a time of 53m44s.

In the women’s race, Kirsty Rault took the top step of the podium in 01h11m27s, second was Gabriella Holmes in 01h12m53s, and rounding off the podium was Mandie Landsberg in 01h14m45s.

The Rookie Elite athletes completed a 5km course incorporating 15 obstacles. In the men’s elite race, Brandon Hulley claimed gold in a time of 36m45s, silver went to Cayde de Waal in a time of 39m57s, while Dylan van Tonder claimed bronze with a time of 41m50s. In the women’s race, first place went to Megan van Tonder in 50m08s, second was Michelle Gonsalves in 01h02m11s, and third was Shaylee Hulley in 01h03m07s.

A highlight of each WARRIOR weekend is the Reebok Sprint Race – an action-packed event that involves a shorter and compressed obstacle course completed either individually or as a team.

The hotly-contested men’s race was won by Jack JP Mare, with Brandon Hulley in second and third was Ruan Eygelaar.

In the women’s elite sprint race, undefeated this season, Dominique D’Oliveira claimed her sixth consecutive title ahead of Sabrina Daolio in second and Cindy Wills in third. Top honours in the Team Sprint went to the Wildcards – Trevor Lagerwey, Dominique D’Oliveira and Jack JP Mare.

The next event is TOYOTA WARRIOR #7, which takes place on the 6th of October 2018 in Durbanville, Cape Town, Western Cape.

Results – Toyota Warrior #6

15km Black Ops Elite


  1. Louis Smit 01:22:50
  2. Claude Eksteen 01:23:35
  3. Thomas van Tonder 01:25:15


  1. Nedene Cahill 01:40:07
  2. Trish Bahlmann 01:48:25
  3. Carla van Huyssteen 01:49:50



  1. Anele Bans 00:52:43
  2. Conrad Herbst 00:52:59
  3. Calen Hastie 00:53:44


  1. Kirsty Rault 01:11:27
  2. Gabriella Holmes 01:12:53
  3. Mandie Landsberg 01:14:45



  1. Brandon Hulley 00:36:45
  2. Cayde de Waal 00:39:57
  3. Dylan van Tonder 00:41:50


  1. Megan van Tonder 00:50:08
  2. Michelle Gonsalves 01:02:11
  3. Shaylee Hulley 01:03:07



  1. Jack JP Mare
  2. Brandon Hulley
  3. Ruan Eygelaar


  1. Dominique D’Oliveira
  2. Sabrina Daolio
  3. Cindy Wills


  1. Wildcards
  2. BeSnapped
  3. AOT Supa Mama

For the full results of Toyota Warrior #6, visit

For more information or to enter, visit

Toyota Warrior Race 2018 Dates:

Warrior 7                                  6 October                                  Durbanville, Cape Town, Western Cape

Warrior 8                                  24 November                           Soweto, Johannesburg, Gauteng

Toyota WARRIOR, powered by Reebok, is back with mud and obstacles built to sustain and delight the thousands of athletes, large and small, tall and short, thin and large that are ready to challenge themselves having fun building better humans.

The event calls adventure seekers from all walks of life – whether a weekend WARRIOR or an elite athlete hoping to snatch up the series title. With a Rookie, Commando, and Black Ops category on offer, WARRIOR has something for everyone.

For the first time in the popular series there will be an escape route for those who don’t find the idea of mud particularly appealing. Instead of diving into the infamous Mud Monster, participants will have the option of taking a penalty loop that will take them the same amount of time to complete. The ‘mudless’ option will not be made available to any Elite athletes, however.

Adventure seekers looking for some extra high-speed excitement have the option of entering the popular Reebok Sprint Race.

A specifically designed children’s obstacle course will be available for little adventurers, as well as a WARRIOR Kids Zone under the supervision of child-minders.

There are some exciting things in store at the 2018 TOYOTA WARRIOR SERIES, powered by Reebok:

  • You can choose your own batch start times again, so enter soon to choose the batch you prefer.
  • The theme for 2018 is Māori Warrior, so expect to see a lot of tattoos and funky designs
  • In 2018 the Mud Monster will not be compulsory, non-Elites can do a penalty loop and skip the mud
  • Sprint Race: we have changed the Sprint Race format to make it more exciting and involve more age categories.
  • Two one-day action packed events added in Bloemfontein and NelspruitWritten and distributed by Hot Salsa Media on behalf of Advendurance.